Authenticity; honouring your truth

What does being authentic really mean? The way I see it, it means making a conscious choice to live how you want to live and let your true self be seen. It’s when your love of your truth becomes more important than what others think of you. It’s letting go of who we or others think we’re supposed to be and embracing who we are.

How many of us can honestly say that we are living our truth day by day? I know I haven’t been for the most part. I’ve always been a people pleaser. I like making people happy or putting a smile on their faces. I enjoy helping people. It makes me feel valued, appreciated, fulfilled, loved and needed. It also brings me great joy to know I’ve made a positive difference in someone else’s life. There’s nothing wrong with that – except when you are sacrificing your own truth in order to do so.

Somehow along the way, of always trying to make others happy, I’ve hid the real me from the world. I had this fear of being vulnerable enough to let people see the real me; a fear that I am inadequate as a person, and that my own worth relied on pleasing others around me. But since starting this spiritual journey of self development and growth, I am slowly becoming who I’ve always been, but was too afraid to reveal.

I’ve also discovered that daring to set boundaries is all about having the courage to love ourselves, even when we risk disappointing others. It’s about living less out of habit and more with intention.

So throw away your mask, know who you are and be brave enough to live it. We are not here to fulfill anyone else’s expectations of us, we are here to shine our own unique light for all the world to see. Have the courage to be yourself and acknowledge that being vulnerable is showing strength not weakness. Once you do, you will find that the Universe will respond by opening doors where you once only saw walls.

-Josie xoxo


“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?

                                                            Actually who are you not to be?

You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing englightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

– Marianne Williamson

Leave a Reply

